Oriflame Summer Internship

Day 5 in Tunisia - First day at the office

Publicerad 2016-06-21 02:45:00 i Denise in Tunisia

Good evening!
 
Today I woke up 7.30 AM, went for my now regular morning run, and then my boss Jonas picked me up at 9 AM and we drove about 10 min to the Oriflame office. Jonas started up Oriflame in Tunisia from scratch about four years ago, so both the building and the office - everything - is very new and modern.
Jonas showed me around and I got to meet and greet all the employees at Oriflame Tunisia - a quite young team, both men and women, who all seem very friendly. This day was mostly about getting settled and I completed several of Oriflame's e-learnings; with everything from a crash course in Sustainability, the Oriflame business idea, how you attain and keep customers, information about the catalogue and the products (actually can't wait until I will try some of them out), to Oriflame's immense CSR work.
I also read several documents e.g. about that Oriflame never has contributed in any testing of makeup on animals and the importance of that the ingredients in the makeup is eco-friendly. Since I'm both interested in entrepreneurship, CSR and have been using makeup regularly since I was 13 years old, it was quite easy, interesting and fun to do the different e-learnings. I especially liked the part when one should list in which order to apply eyeshadow, eyeliner, mascara and fill in your eyebrows (and some other things I forgot about). The purpose behind this is of course that you should know and be educated about the products that you sell. Oriflame sells its makeup through catalogue only - more about that later. It anyway took me over 5 attempts to get all of them in the right order - there's always more to learn! 
Me at my desk with some of the employees at Oriflame Tunisia! Taher and Safa to the left . (Everyone got a little bit shy when I said that it would probably appear here at the blog... ;-))
 
I left the office around 5.30 PM and did some shopping at the supermarket here with Jonas. I love to try new things, especially when it comes to food, so I asked for and got some good advices on which Tunisian cheese/olives/dessert/traditional food/vegetables I should buy. Always good in a new country!
 
 
When I got home I went for a run to La Marsa - tomorrow me and a friend will go and look for a club here where I can train kick/thaiboxing. Actually saw a guy with MMA-gloves 100 m from the office today - gonna be interesting to see how the training is over here! And yes, I have been warned about that I might be the only girl. Training thaiboxing in Russia actually got me used to it ;-)
 
In the evening I went for dinner in La Marsa at a new friend's and her husband's cozy place and then we had cake and Tunisian tea on their roof top. If it wouldn't have been dark outside, you would have been able to see the ocean a couple of hundred meters away...
 
Took a taxi home a couple of hours ago - and it's so crowded on the streets! People really wake up in the late evening during Ramadan. Can't wait to see what it will be in a couple of weeks after Ramadan - I'm sure it's going to be really nice...
 
Sweet dreams to you all and stay tuned for more updates!
 
XO,
Denise

Kommentarer

Kommentera inlägget här
Publiceras ej

Om

Min profilbild

On this blog you can follow some of the Oriflame Global Summer Interns who have been selected for their passion, creativity and energy to complete exciting strategic projects in one of our locations around the world. This summer we will follow Emilia Bryngelsson, who is doing her summer internship in Istanbul and Anton Ekman who will be working in Moscow. Feel Inspired? Do you want to dare yourself and take the leap out in the Oriflame world ? Be on the lookout on our corporate site when applications for Global Summer Internship 2018 opens up in December!

Senaste inläggen

Kategorier

Arkiv

Prenumerera och dela